Change default google search in firefox

Standard

I’ve just been trying to find out how to change where a search from firefox’s search box goes.

By default it goes to google.com, but i wanted to use google.co.uk. I’ve searched around and didn’t find anything giving a definitive answer so thought i’d write it here.

(Note: You should close firefox before making any changes)

It’s a very simple fix, basically all you need to do is navigate to the firefox directory (“c:\program files\mozilla firefox” is the default for windows) then open the “searchplugins” folder.

Next you need to edit the “google.xml” file and change this line:

<Url type=”text/html” method=”GET” template=”http://www.google.com/search”&gt;

to

<Url type=”text/html” method=”GET” template=”http://www.google.co.uk/search”&gt;

or whichever google locality you wish to use.
I also changed this line (but i’m not sure if it’s necessary):

<SearchForm>http://www.google.com/firefox

Then re-open firefox and search away! :)

20 thoughts on “Change default google search in firefox

  1. Stumbled upon your blog a week ago and decided to come back. Not for the articles you write, but for how you write them, really amazing stuff you’re doing here, i like how you put information into the articles which makes it much more easier to read and much more interesting of course. Keep up the good work!

  2. Buzz

    Top man, fairly high on the google search aswell for “how do I set firefox search box to google.co.uk?”

    Well done.

  3. Lep

    Doesn’t seem to work for Firefox 3.5, I no longer seem to b able to get google.co.uk by default.

    The XML file has changed format totally, is really really bloody annoying

    Why on Earth don’t they give .co.uk options??? Just damn inconsiderate.

    • It seems to be ok for me…. I still have the line there and even though mine actually points to the .com it redirects to .co.uk….!

  4. Thanks very much for this fix/tip. I highlight product names on pages, then right click them, Google Search them, and then click Products on the resulting UK page to get a BRITISH product search in Pounds, instead of a bloody American one!

    This fix sorts me out. Worked for me in 3.5.3 by changing the line as detailed (not the second one). Initially, it didn’t take effect, but I hadn’t closed the DownThemAll window (counts as a Firefox window). Upon closing the DTA window and starting Firefox, the fix took effect and I was back to UK products searches! :)

  5. ivanmacx

    Thanks for the tip. In case it helps anyone else, on Ubuntu Jaunty I found the google.xml file in:

    /usr/lib/firefox-addons/searchplugins

  6. WR

    Thanks for the great tip, mate!

    Anyway, here’s what I do to my v3.6. But first, the case is I’m nowhere near Singapore nor the US yet I want my search result come from google.com.sg.

    I still use the edit mentioned above, except the domain name is ‘google.com.sg':

    <Url type=”text/html” method=”GET” template=”http://www.google.com.sg/search”>

    On the ‘rls’ parameter I change the variable ‘{moz:locale}’ into the default ‘en-US’ such that:

    <Param name=”rls” value=”{moz:distributionID}:en-US:{moz:official}”/>

    I don’t speak the language FX is written in but I think the redirection starts from the ‘template’ field before ‘{moz:locale}’ overrides it when appropriate.

  7. Russ

    Hi,

    Easier(proper)way to do it, open a new tab and type

    about:config

    accept the warnings

    in filter strings box, type google
    it will bring up all google features
    near the bottom you will see
    KEYWORDS URL
    double click the address next to it, and change to .co.uk or .fr or wherever

    hope this helps, but be careful editing unknown settings as this file contains the whole rule book for everything firefox does.

    • This does seem to be a better way to do it, but as you say, you need to be careful editing settings in about:config.

      Thanks for the comment

  8. Russ

    p.s

    As my version has a little google search bar any way I set mine to “www.FRoogle.co.uk”
    this is google Shopping
    so if I want to resarch a price of somthing i search in the URL bar, if i just want a standard google seach it goes in the search bar.

    I’m constantly shopping online so this is useful to me =D

Leave a Reply

